Overview of Academic Structure

The University is divided into 5 Faculties:

  • Faculty of Arts, Professional & Social Studies 
  • Faculty of Education, Community & Leisure
  • Faculty of Health & Applied Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Science 
  • Faculty of Technology and Environment

The Faculties are responsible for strategic and operational planning and income and expenditure management.  The Schools within each Faculty are responsible for the delivery of academic activity.


Teaching is delivered through a modular framework to ensure consistency in quality and delivery across the University, and to give flexibility and choice to students.  All programmes leading to LJMU Awards are expected to operate within the Academic Framework Regulations.

Academic Support Services

Student Services are responsible for all non-academic services provided for students. These services can be accessed via Student Zones where specialist staff assist and advise students throughout their programme of study.  The services provided include; financial advice, welfare, counselling, careers advice, study support, disability advice, funding information and Chaplaincy. 



Research is a core strategic activity of LJMU, impacting on and supporting all the objectives of the University.  Research informs teaching and plays a key role in business.  LJMU’s research profile and reputation have developed rapidly over the last few years and a commitment to see research develop and thrive is underpinned by the recognition that research is vital to the maintenance of a vibrant academic community.



The University has an Alumni Association, supporting the long-term relationship between LJMU and its graduates.

Please click here to view the Alumni web pages.

Academic Board

The Terms of Reference for the Academic Board are set out in the University’s Articles of Government.  In summary, Academic Board is responsible for:

  • General issues relating to the research, scholarship, teaching and courses at the University
  • The procedures for the award of qualifications and honorary academic titles; and the procedures for the expulsion of students for academic reasons. Such responsibilities shall be subject to the requirements of validating and accrediting bodies.  It also considers the development of the academic activities of the University and the resources needed to support them and advises the Vice Chancellor and the Board of Governors accordingly.

The Academic Board’s responsibility for the administration of any awards is by virtue of delegation from the Board of Governors.

The membership of Academic Board (ex-officio and elected) comprises:


Vice Chancellor (Chair) Ex officio

Pro Vice Chancellor (Scholarship, Research and Knowledge Transfer) (Deputy Chair)
Ex officio

Pro Vice Chancellor (Education)
Ex officio

5 Deans of Faculty
Ex officio

Director of Library & Student Support 
Ex officio

5 Directors elected from the Strategy Delivery Forum

4 Student Union Sabbatical Officers

6 Faculty Academic Staff – one member from each Faculty (currently 2 from Arts, Professional & Social Studies) 

3 Representatives elected from the Professoriat (not Senior Managers)

2 Representatives elected from the non-teaching staff of the University

In Attendance


Deputy Chief Executive & University Secretary

Pro Vice Chancellor (External Engagement)

Director of Finance and Estates


Registrar and Chief Information Officer

Director of Academic Standards & Quality Enhancement

Director of Research

Academic Board Secretary

Minuting Secretary

Others as required by the agenda

Board of Governors Attending Academic Board

To support the relationship between the Board of Governors and Academic Board, there is a standing invitation allowing for 2 members of the Board of Governors to attend Academic Board meetings in the capacity of observer.



Page last modified 02 October 2012.

Send Feedback
LJMU Logo banner imageLJMU Logo banner image (print)